Photo

Why isn't exercising making a difference? ugh!

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Imabee

Imabee

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

Posted 13 March 2013 - 08:33 PM

I started working out at a gym near our house 9 weeks ago. Both my husband and I started going, which really is kinda nice. We go 5 times a week without fail. I've never worked out in a gym before, so I've kinda been figuring out my plan as I go. I normally do the weight machines 4 times a week, rotating upper/lower body - on those days I do 30 minutes of cardio on the treadmill or eliptical. One day a week I just do cardio - 60 minutes on something. This week I'm resting from the weights and have done an hour of (to me at least) pretty hard cardio. So the problem is, I'm not losing any weight! It's getting frustrating. I've been at the same weight +/- two pounds since December. Two weeks ago I had this really shocking loss - 3 pounds! But at my last weigh in I'd gained it all back!
Has anybody had the same kind of frustration - starting a workout plan with all these big expectations and then the scale doesn't show all your hard work? I'm 6 pounds away from goal, yep the same 6 pounds I was away on December 1st of last year. Any thoughts would be great - maybe I'm doing something wrong and need to work out less? or more? or I'm just doing something that is making my body just all confused and my metabolism is off...I'm working so hard and eating healthy, sure wish the darn scale would give me a little payoff! Thanks all!!

#2 SonyaCele

SonyaCele

Sonya

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,163 posts

Posted 13 March 2013 - 08:48 PM

What are you eating?   Chances,are you need to eat more with the amount you are working out.

When you look in the mirror and see no change, and still keep faith, knowing that in time you will get there if you stay focused and on track, that's the difference between those who succeed and those who fail.