• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 JennyCaps

JennyCaps

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 31 July 2011 - 03:15 PM

I posted this post on another topic, however I wanted to start a new one with some ideas for substituting and get other people's recipes for doing meals on my own.

I just lost 32 pounds and finally feel comfortable substituting (my halfway was 25 pounds). I've been doing Jenny since May 2011.

I'm in Canada so I'm not sure what you have in the US... but I have found a substitute for every single snack! The portions are smaller and my consultant did tell me not to add anything like fruit to it. She said just eat the snacks as a subsititute as long as the ingredients and nutritional label match.

Next research I did was on finding a cookbook. I went on Amazon and found "The Diabetes Diet Cookbook."

Essentially, the food looks amazing, it's very high in fiber and low in sugars and sodium. The book boasts that cooking these foods you will lose up to 2 pounds/week. When comparing the recipes, it's pretty much the same foods (only difference is I can finally make my dinners with fresh ingredients from scratch. I live with a chef... which is partially why I gained the weight in the first place. He hates watching me eat frozen meals all the time.) Another great part about this book is every recipe has diet exchanges. So I know exactly how many starch/meat/dairy I am getting in each meal. It really is worth the 20 bucks and most recipes look so easy. I'll post again when I start cooking.

I'm not cutting out JC foods. My next order will have only 7 breakfasts, 7 dinners, 7 snacks and 14 lunches. Lunch has to be easy for me or I will eat out so I'm not ready to give up my JC lunches every day (and I might never be ready to do so). So on a two week order, I will make my own breakfast and dinner every other day.

Pretty much everything has a substitute.

100 Calories SmartFood Popcorn- Substitute for JC popcorn
Fat 6g
Saturated fat: 1g